Life’s Too Short …Is It? ….Really?

Hi All

Yesterday I met up with a friend for coffee. Actually that isn’t quite true. I met up with a friend for 2 cups of tea (me) coffee, an everything-included-fried-breakfast  and a medium hot chocolate for said friend. And here is the irony – she is the one of slimmest beings on planet earth.

Actually I’m beginning to think that maybe she isn’t from planet earth but an alien come here for experimental purposes. Like, the leader of the ‘slim people’ said, ‘Go to that green and blue planet and discover what that crap is that they all fill their orifices with that makes them almost as wide as they are long.’ And off my friend toddled – or rather – down she beamed.

I digress – as usual …

The reason I mentioned my friend is because we were having a good old chat about the world and his dog, injustices – imagined and real, men ( I can’t divulge what was said on that topic!) and everything and anything else that took our fancy. It was the injustices bit that rattled my cage. It has become hugely apparent to me over the last year that of all the ‘lifting,’ positive affirmations, the one that is used the most and also the most detrimental is, ‘Life’s Too Short.’

Everything sails under this flag. Good and bad. Frankly I am beginning to hate the bloody saying. And here’s why. I won’t bore you with details, names or he said, I said.  I don’t believe that social platforms are the places on which to bare your soul regarding things that matter to you – but have not the slightest interest to anyone else.

A year ago I had a massive disagreement with someone. This person hurt me beyond words. Cut into my heart, ripped it to shreds. You get the picture? I am a Scorpio. We rarely forgive and we never forget.

When my cousin died, late last year, her husband sobbed on the other end of telephone and blubbed, ‘Just do me one favour, will you?’

I said, ‘Absolutely, you know I will, if I can.’

‘Make it up with (no name) will you? Because life is too short.’

He then broke down and sobbed. I waited until he was able to go on and he repeated the words.

I said, ‘I’m sorry. No. I can’t do that.’

You see, whereas I am totally fine with the ‘life is too short bit,’ what I’m not fine with is the idea that those words can undo the hurt. We have to have principles. Come judgement day we have to stand up and be counted. I believe that I was not to blame for what happened and I will not ‘make things up,’ when the ‘baddie’ in all of this wasn’t me. So I informed him that yes life is too short – too short to allow shits in it that use you to their own ends and cause you crippling pain.

You hear it all the time. Life is too short to hold grudges. Life is too short for this. Life is too short for that. It is a free rein for people to dump on you and get away with it.

Don’t do it just because a few sentimental words are tossed at you.

My affirmation is simply this, Life is too short to keep anything in your life that FEELS WRONG.

I’m not saying that you should spring-clean your life and chuck out the chintz – or maybe that is exactly what I’m saying? I’ve never been too keen on blood-sucking leeches – animal or human.  I quite like the idea of vampires – but that’s it!

So, when someone knocks you to the ground physically or hypothetically,  stamps on your head, has great delight in seeing you flattened and then laughingly offers you a hand-up, saying,  ‘Let’s forget it mate. Life’s too short.’ I hope you tell them to bugger off!

Yes I know, ‘Forgive them for they know not what they do,’

Well I’m sorry, sunbeam, but I think they know exactly what they do.

Take care my lovelies x

http://www.amazon.com/Mulligans-Reach-Jennie-Orbell/dp/1782991700/ref=sr_1_cc_1?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1360952004&sr=1-1-catcorr&keywords=mulligans+reach+by+jennie+orbell

mull

7 thoughts on “Life’s Too Short …Is It? ….Really?

  1. I was treated in a rather infamous manner by a minority of Bengal breeders with an axe to grind not so long ago and I know exactly where you’re coming from. In my case this rigidity to forgive and forget, turn the other cheek etc is called Obsessive Compulsive Disorder. If they cannot see their behaviour for the shameless display it is, and this includes family, my time is spent as far away from them as possible. Most of these sayings/quotes are missing the all important second parts.

    Like

  2. Yes Gail, certainly food for thought, as always. The other way of looking at it though is, what if the deep offence wasn;t meant, was all a misunderstanding that neither person can back down from? Of course maybe you know it wasn’t, in which case no point in forgiveness

    Like

  3. I think all saying needs qualification, Life is too short, is only half a sentence. Life is too short for what. Life is too short not to get the absolute best you can out of it. Life is too short not to enjoy self. Life is too short to have regrets. But we all have to live within the lives we are in and live by the decisions we make. Thanks for the blog post Gail

    Like

  4. Great blog Gail – totally share your view. Life’s too short to waste on people who drain your spirit and fill it with negativity – the heck with them! What goes around, comes around…
    On a positive note, hope you like the review on Amazon.COM 🙂
    Will update you on the other one when i see you next x

    Like

Leave a Reply

