A Shortage Of Tits In General?

Good Morning

One of my orfe is missing. At least I think it is missing. It didn’t raise a fin and say, ‘Here!’ when I risked my life by walking up the garden last night to check on them. I say risked my life because my garden, as night falls, is a scary place. If you don’t want to tread on slugs or crunch snails it’s best not to wander too far from the beaten track. And then there are the frogs. Little jumpers zooming all over the place. Have you ever stepped on a frog? Not nice and the guilt felt is unbelievable as the poor thing limps off casting backward glances that clearly say, ‘Why can’t you look where you are going?’HPIM2757

I say I ventured up the garden to check on the fish but that isn’t exactly true. I ventured to check on the chucks. I had this suspicion that they were roosting outside. This suspicion was formed by the fact that there really isn’t enough chuck-pooh in the sleeping box first thing in the morning.

Is this necessary, I hear you say?

Of course, is my answer. It’s what comes out of an animal that tells you what is going on inside an animal. But that wasn’t the point in this instance. I didn’t want the daft creatures to roost outside and be frightened to death if a fox or cat should approach through the darkness.

My suspicions were unfounded as both chucks were tucked up in the sleeping box, clucking bedtime stories to each other and planning bug-murdering tactics for the morning.

They have been brilliant egg-layers until recently but just now Dust isn’t laying and looks like a plucked vulture and Beautiful is laying a thin-skinned egg which they are having great delight in bursting and eating. They have access to more grit than the local council but still the soft-skinned egg appears. If these chucks were in a ‘production unit’ they would have been culled months ago.HPIM2761

I spent time in the garden yesterday titivating – as you do – although there isn’t a great deal to titivate. The nights are still cold and we have had a ground frost for the last three nights. The spring onions haven’t yet sprung and the radish have yet refused to push off their soil duvet. Early days.

I did have a chat with the neighbour – intentionally. I needed his opinion on staking, or not, green beans. Bit of a wrong move because once he enters the stage there is no getting him off it. Perched, as I was, on the ledge of the greenhouse base, I almost fell off as he informed me, ‘I’ve not seen many tits this year.’

I self-consciously wrapped my vest a little tighter around my upper-torso and murmured, ‘No?’

‘No,’ he said.

At this point I mumbled something about having to go and look for Chea who had become positively bored with the conversation and wandered off.

‘I went to a talk on tits,’ he said.

‘Sorry?’ I said.

‘I went to a talk on tits. It was so fascinating. I discovered more in an hour than I ever knew.’

At this point Chea cruised up thus wrecking my excuse for cutting short this extremely fascinating conversation on tits.

‘Did you know that they are attracted to ‘moving’ food and that you have to change their nuts every three days because they like fresh nuts?’

At this point I’m wondering just who the nut is here? Fortunately, and I don’t know how, the conversation swung to dandelions. Apparently he  had lots. So never being one to miss an opportunity, or a way out, I said, ‘Dandelions? Oh brilliant. Could I have some for the chickens?’

Good move because off he trotted, returning with an armful of dandelion leaves, which I graciously took and bombed off to give them to the chucks.

Richards mother has sent a packet of sunflower seeds for me to grow for her. I’m assuming I have to use my own compost and plant pots? Like the two-dozen cosmos I am also growing for her? I’ll pop them in today and they can join my other babies in the greenhouse.HPIM2751

It is another sunny day so I’m off to have another look for that missing fish, hang out the bedding and await the riveting conversation from beyond the hedge.

Joking apart – if there is ANYTHING you want to know about tits (of all sizes and kinds) just ask  – and if I can’t help I do know a man who can.

Take care my lovelies x

 

12 thoughts on “A Shortage Of Tits In General?

  1. Surpising what you can find out about something that you never knew! The tits, I do get them, blue tits and the odd coal tit, I think. There is another one that has a more black head but cannot think what it is called. Do you have bees? I have a cherry tree in full bloom waiting for some bees. I hope they are around because I am looking forward to cherries this season. Birds get most before they are ripe, but these are hanging low so, if they stay on the tree untouched by birdie beaks, I may have a chance of procuring some. I always have a gigle with your blogg. Thank you.

    Like

    • Thank YOU Evelyn for reading my blog and taking the time to comment. Your tits with the blacker head may be great tits – very similar to the blue tit. We get noisy little groups of long-tailed tits and they are lovely. Just like little furry mice with tails. I do have bees – Chea thinks they are good fun – little does she know! I have a cherry tree and the birds always eat my cherries – but I don’t mind. They are the cooking variety so the birds are pretty much welcome to them. Keep giggling xx

      Like

  2. Plenty of tits here 🙂

    No seriously, we have a couple of big bird feeders hanging off various things in the garden and I’ve seen a fair few blue tits at the seed. However for me, my favourite bird is the little Wren. We’ve been very fortunate to have had Wrens nesting in the garden almost every year since we moved in. I think they like the semi-wild areas that result from leaving building rubble or Land Rover parts in piles for years at a time. We have a Wren nesting in the ivy growing up the bathroom wall this year. Amazing how much noise can come from such a small bird though!

    Sorry to hear that the chickens aren’t laying at the moment. Here’s hoping the situation improves soon.

    Like

    • We had a wren nesting last year in the ivy that had grown over a tree we had chopped. Such a sweet little bird. I’m hoping she doesn’t come back this year now that we have the kitty. Having said that – she was a secretive little thing so hopefully if she returns I can keep her safe. Loving your paint-work! x

      Like

      • Thanks, I was over the moon with the way the tubs turned out. I’m really glad we decided to try some fresh pastel shades. I’m rather peeved that I didn’t try these different colours a decade ago. You wait until I get to the workshop and the new office I plan to build. Even more outrageous colours to come. Poor eldest daughter really will think she’s come to the set of Ballamory then 😉

        Anyway, I’m sure I read in the parental contract that our job is to embarrass our offspring as much as possible…..must remember to hold hands with Mrs Mud next time we all go out as a family 🙂

        Like

      • Whoa! Holding hands will certainly do it Mud! Funny but the offspring don’t actually have to speak, do they? They just give you that sideways, under the eyelashes look which says everything and nothing. Not to worry. They will be us, one day. x

        Like

Leave a Reply

