Sex After Three Sets?

Morning All

It is absolutely hurling it down here in Leicestershire. I’ve been up to the chucks and the pond fish and come back half drowned. I am so loving this summer. Chea is out in it. She usually calls it a day when its raining and tootles in but no, today she is out there in it. At least I’m assuming she is. I heard from the neighbour yesterday that she visits him in his kitchen which is quite worrying because he doesn’t like cats.  Oopps I spoke too soon, here she comes – wet through!

I’m meeting my brother this morning and then this afternoon its ‘Wimbledon’ time. A comfy seat on the sofa and a bit of Andy Murray. I have found it most interesting how the aforesaid Mr Murray has changed over the last couple of years. Two or three years ago he was a sulky-looking, skinny lad whom people found it hard to get behind because of his aloof attitude. Like many things in this world things are not always the way they seem. A sulky nature is blamed for shyness and lack of confidence and experience in front of the camera? He loves what he does and the public and adoration side of it is a part that he didn’t necessarily sign up for.

Because someone chooses something that is public orientated it doesn’t follow that they feel comfortable with millions of people chanting their name. And besides, the press puts so much pressure on the likes of Andy Murray it is unbelievable. And the questions they ask after a match makes me want to hurl something at the TV. Let’s ask ourselves how we would  feel with some tool in our faces asking stuff like, ‘how do you think you played today?’ when you’d just gone out in three sets? Don’t they already know the answer to that? Crap! You’d feel like utter crap.

Then they get personal. ‘Your girlfriend was watching, what do you think she was thinking while you were trying to get back into the match (being thrashed!) and couldn’t?’ I’d have to answer with something totally crass, like, ‘She’d be thinking that after only three sets I wouldn’t be too knackered for sex tonight.’ That would shut the idiots up.

And then of course we have to have the ‘studio’ autopsy where they dissect every move he made and we have to listen to the opinions of ‘yesterdays’ tennis players, most of whom never won a major match and have the personalities of snails. And that’s being unkind to snails. Having said this, John McEnroe tends to know what he is talking about and never takes himself too seriously. John went the distance. As far as I’m concerned that gives him the right to an opinion.

Tomorrow I’m thinking of running the first page of my next novel by you? I may – or mayMC900366520 not. Depending on which way the wind is blowing …

 

Take care my lovelies x

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Sex After Three Sets?

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one cringing at the rather stupid post-match questions. I do like McEnroe he has personality in buckets and a sense if humour alongside his experience and know how. I’ve got my strawberries and am ready for another afternoon of watching people work hard.

    Like

  2. When he wa young and going through tennis angst, I hated McEnroe. OVer then years e mellowed, so did I. Have you rea his book. I have, it us inciteful and worth the time spent. I do not watch much of the tennis now, but watched. Bit yesterday evening. Sorry about all the boo boos, this IPad has. Mind if its own.

    Like

  3. I tend to only watch Wimbledon during the second week but I got back from locking the old dear next door in for the night, to find Mud and the Mudlets watching Robson thrash D Marino and they had already seen the last set of Murrays match.

    Mud thinks I should qualify the point about locking the neighbour in but I think I might not 😀 (don’t we all love a bit of mystery ?) x

    Like

Leave a Reply

