Not dead . . . just taking time out

Hi

No, I’m not dead . . . just taking time out to smell the roses, consider this and that, and generally make up my mind on my next steps.

I’m pretty sure that the ‘writing’ has reached an end. This is not down to my lack of interest in it or to the lack of ideas whizzing around in my head but more to the fact that my health issues won’t allow it. Any amount of excessive scrolling – as in editing etc – totally upsets my head and vision. This, to my detriment, I have learnt. Also, the medication that I’m taking in an attempt to keep these debilitating retinal migraines away leaves me brain-dead and I can sit for minutes . . . and minutes . . .  trying to figure out how to spell a certain word. Usually something massively complicated like, ‘more’ or ‘need.’

I have long learnt that you can’t fight the inevitable and that often that ‘inevitable’ is steering you away into other directions. So, I will never say never, but for now, and for the foreseeable future, the writer in me has retired.

Having said this I do have other ‘irons in the fire.’

We are now looking at moving to Lincolnshire. This is a very new W.I.P and may or may not happen, so for now I’ll shut up about it, other than to say if anyone has a lovely little detached property in south Lincs, stuck in the middle of a field, please let me know. It has to be detached because as I said to Richard the other day ‘I’m sick of yelling at you and the neighbours hearing every word.’ My quest in life is to berate him in private.

Also, after my toe~dipping~into~the~water episodes with the craft fairs, I’ve decided to do more. Not with the books but with ‘pretty’ little bits and bobs – painted hearts and plaques etc. It occupies my mind, keeps me off Richard’s case, and fills that creativity spot in my being that not writing leaves void. I have seven fairs booked so far. It may all end in tears and an attic full of crap but hey-ho there you go.

Dear Richard is going for a job interview tomorrow!!!! I should at this point begin my own Mexican wave or high-five Chea, but frankly I’ll miss him when he is back in the workplace. I can’t remember what it’s like to plug-in the vac and the lack of washing up liquid on my hands has left them as smooth as silk –  well, OK, maybe not as smooth as silk because I’m always scratching around in the garden.

So, directions change. Things move on. This is me now. Tomorrow I could be something else. But as I said to Richard, ‘I think we still have one or two adventures left in us.’

The moving thing is massively emotional. My garden is perfect (don’t mean to sound big-headed) and we have twenty-five years of little passed-on souls buried out there. The house is as we want it and we have a bit of money in the bank. We are comfortable. But, like the writer I am (was) I imagine other scenarios. And besides, ‘comfortable’ is overrated if you ask me?

We will see. I tend to trust in the heavens.

For now I’ll paint my little hearts and do-dahs and drop into crafty mode. Tomorrow, as I say, could be a whole new ball game.

Sending lots of love to you all.

x20160718_130505

 

10 thoughts on “Not dead . . . just taking time out

  1. Oh, Jennie, I’m so sad to hear about your retirement. I hope the change of pace and/or location help with the migraines, and if one day the technology should make realistic voice-to-text possible, I hope you come back to writing. -hugs-

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your little ‘doo-dahs’ as you call them. You are so creative and talented! You may well do better with those than books – the latter is hard to sell – but your ‘doo-dahs’ are adorable! You should try to sell to that huge garden chain – the name escapes me now – but they have all sorts of things in that ilk as I recall. Best of luck with any decisions you make. Remember, your internet friends go with you wherever you go!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am having a little troubling convincing myself that you are simply having a change of direction, for I know how I would feel in your position. Top marks for your positivity though, and every success with your craft work. Are you still able to blog a little about it, as I’d love to see what you make…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I understand where you are coming from and you are right – it wasn’t an easy decision. I could write a whole novel on the whys and wherefores that have driven me to making this decision – obviously it isn’t just my state of health, though that is a very real part of it. I have to admit to having become very disillusioned with the whole self-publishing thing of late – but I won’t say I’ll never write again, after all, isn’t blogging writing? And I’ll certainly pop a few ‘bits’ on here shortly. xxxxxxxx

    Like

  5. I agree with everyone here but what I want to say is these littl doo-dahs are great. Love the chicken sitting in eggs epspecially, but they are all good. Do you buy them as bknk, then paint? Have done that myself with Christmadps stuff for cards. It is the personal touch that sells them. I see they are dingle dangles. You can buy pins to stick on the back to make brooches, another string to the bow. Also, possibly buy wooden beads and accoutrements for necklaces, with a chicken ir cat or butterfly or bees in the centre front. Worth a thought. Well done you for not sitting on your laurels, health notwithstanding. Best of luck.
    Bless. Evelyn.

    Like

Leave a Reply

