A Bit Like Writing A Novel?

So, I’ve been warbling on and on about this chicken shed that is no longer a chicken shed but now a craft shed and a few readers have queried what I’m actually doing in there. Some of my antics I can speak of – some not.

I’m joking.

If you remember I started by making plaques and hearts? I still have these in my ‘portfolio’ but I’m pretty sure I won’t be making many more of these. They were a tad like a rough copy and as I progressed I edited them a few times, finally deciding that as a stand-alone item they are fine but a sequel will not follow.

I can totally relate this ‘craft’ thing to writing a novel . . . or at least to the way I write a novel. I start at the beginning with an idea and then see what happens. Usually, my characters write the novel for me and at times I have to rein them back with a firm hand. The same can be said of my ‘crafting.’ I start with an idea and see what happens. Quite often, like the novel, I end up with something that surprises even me – and not always in a good way.

I have days where everything I touch is utter crap and I  sit there staring at the debris, listening to Ken Bruce on the radio and watching Chea cleaning her bottom, stretched out across my work area. I don’t mind because frankly I’m not using it.

Then there are days when things go well and for a while I’m chuffed with what I’ve produced. Unfortunately, I have always been my own worst enemy and critic and usually, by the next day, I’m back to thinking it could be better.

I am fortunate that we have a log burner in the lounge. This is my plan B for the wooden failures. See, I am practical.

I’m liking the direction in which I appear to be going . . . large, chunky fairy houses and embossed pictures. It’s a bit like starting out writing romance and ending up in the horror genre. I like using rough wood, recycled and brought back to life. I love the way each piece is different and responds uniquely to sanding and painting etc.

Apologies, I’m wittering as usual. I only popped on here to post some pictures of what I’ve recently produced. The pics’ aren’t great but I think it gives the general impression. See, if I blame the images you’ll believe the items are better than they look. Sneaky, hey?

So, for Malla, Elaine, Evelyn etc. here you go . . .

items-craft-2items-craft

6 thoughts on “A Bit Like Writing A Novel?

  1. Oh, my word! What a delightful collection of your ‘busyness’. You are so creative and talented. Another Beatrix Potter for sure. Would love to get up close but unfortunately 6,000 miles away! I hope your stock does fabulously at your next sale or country fair. I just love all the colours. You should really take some samples to a large suitable chain and see if they’re interested in placing an order. You must have lots of possibilities in England. Nick-nack shops are everywhere, as I remember. Just don’t give up – you are producing a unique niche of creativity.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Elaine. Off to a 2 hour evening craft fair shortly. Shattered before I go so I’m not expected much but it makes a change from Emmerdale etc. Only so much anguish one can take. I actually like the mushroom fairy houses because they are quite big (8″ x 10″ ish) and in 1″ pine, doubled at the roofs and doors so almost a 3D effect. So . . . off we go xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

